Average Order Value in GA4 (Average Purchase Revenue)

Learn what average order value (AOV) is and how to find AOV in GA4.

What is Average Order Value?

Average order value (AOV) shows you, on average, how much money each order brings in. Average order value can be tracked as average purchase revenue in GA4. It tells you how much money a user spends on your website on average per transaction. In other words,

For example, if you make $20,000 from 200 sales, your average order value (or average purchase revenue) is $100. The average amount of money made from an online purchase.

Average Order Value in GA4
Average Order Value in GA4

How to Find Average Order Value in GA4?

You must look for the average purchase revenue metric in order to view the average order value (AOV) in GA4. To do this, you can create an exploration. Here's how:

How to find average order value / average purchase revenue in GA4?
How to find average order value / average purchase revenue in GA4?

How to Increase Average Order Value?

After you've found out how much people spend on average in your store, here are a few ways to encourage them to spend more:

✔️ Offer product suggestions. You can put product suggestions all over your site to help customers decide what to buy and to raise the average purchase revenue.

✔️ Provide free shipping. If people spend a certain amount on your eCommerce store, you may convince them to buy more items by giving them free shipping.

✔️ Up-sell at checkout. Upsell allows you to increase your AOV by offering products that customers may also wish to purchase, and you can promote these products on the checkout page.

FAQ

What is average order value?
Average order value (AOV), or Average purchase revenue in Google Analytics 4, is the average amount that a customer spends on your online store or eCommerce business.
How do I find the average order value in Google Analytics?
You can't find average order value in GA4 standard reports but you can view average purchase revenue metric in Google Analytics 4 by exploration section.
What does high/low AOV mean?
A high AOV in GA4 shows that your customers tend to buy more items per order or spend more on each item. A low AOV may show that your customers buy fewer items or just spend less per item.
What is an example of average order value?
If you made a total of $2,500 revenue from 100 orders, your average order value would be $25. This means that the average amount a user spends at your store is $25.
What is the difference between AOV and ARPU?
Average revenue per user (ARPU) stands for the amount of revenue generated on average from each user. While AOV is based on orders, ARPU depends on users.

For further reading, you can review this article on ARPU .

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